Our Leadership

Meet Our Leadership Team

Get to know the dedicated individuals leading ACET and driving our mission forward.

Dr. Tami Knight
Dr. Tami Knight
Executive Director
Laura Witte
Laura Witte
PResident Elect
Dr. Leslee Schauer
Dr. leslee Schauer
Immediate Past President
Dr. Mark Ybarra
Dr. Mark Ybarra

Welcome to ACET

Hello ACET friends! I extend a warm welcome to you on behalf of the Association of Compensatory Educators of Texas (ACET). As the 2023-2024 President, I am honored to have you join our community of dedicated compensatory educators. Your work is paramount in shaping the future of students facing additional challenges….

A Message from our Executive Director

A Warm Hello to our Members!

My name is Laura Witte, and I am the new Executive Director.  I am grateful and excited for the opportunity to serve you! My background is in both education and law and includes a Bachelor of Arts from Sam Houston State University and a Juris Doctor from St. Mary’s Law School…

Meet Our Officers

Officers serve on ACET’s Executive Council and lead our organization with their expertise and knowledge. Officer terms vary, but all elections are held at ACET conferences.

President elect

Dr. Leslee Schauer

Dr. Leslee Schauer has been in state and federal programs for the past 16 years. Dr. Schauer worked in higher education for 12 years where she wrote and received over $10 million in state and federal funds to provide support programs for special populations.

Learn about Upcoming Conferences

Vice President of Membership

Michael Doyle

Mike has been an active member of ACET for many years, first serving on the ACET Program Planning Committee starting in 2018. Since then, he has served as an ACET Alternate Regional Director, led the ACET Culture & Climate Committee, and served as an ACET Region 13 Regional Director. Currently, Mike is ACET’s Vice-President of Membership.

Learn about Membership News & Updates


Lauren McKinney

Ut facilisis turpis viverra, convallis mi vel, malesuada tellus. Pellentesque rhoncus turpis eget tortor ornare consectetur eu in risus. Mauris eros ex, condimentum venenatis ante in, accumsan convallis quam. In hac habitasse platea dictumst. Ut a ex id erat condimentum semper ut vel velit. Cras tincidunt tincidunt justo, bibendum tempor lorem.

Review Annual Reports & Financial Documents


Luis Guerra

Luis Guerra assumed the position of ACET Secretary in April 2023. Mr. Guerra serves as the Finance Director for Tornillo ISD. Mr. Guerra has over 22 years of extensive experience in grant management of law enforcement and educational grants.

Review Meeting Minutes


Brande Bass

Hi Everyone! I am the Director of Federal and State Programs for New Caney ISD. I have been a proud ACET member for 16 years! In 2017 I began presenting at ACET conferences and my first presentation was on EDGAR.

View Governance Documents

NAFEPA Representative

Sharon Sanchez

Sharon has been married for 23 years, has two beautiful daughters and a beloved Schnoodle! She enjoys running, being outdoors, podcasts, reading, and spending time with her family and friends.

View NAFEPA News & Updates

NAFEPA Representative

Robin Cranmer

Robyn is the Assistant Superintendent of Support Services for Canyon ISD. She has worked in the education system for 29 years and has been blessed to hold many different roles during those years. She began participating with ACET in 2008.

View NAFEPA News & Updates

Executive Council

Each region elects an Executive Council representative every two years. These representatives serve on ACET’s crucial leadership body and help plan upcoming events and offerings for ACET membership. Click on your region’s executive council member to learn more about what is happening in your region.

Region 1

Tana Armitage

ESC Region 1

Region 2

Valerie Buhidar

ESC Region 2

Region 3

Demetric Wells

ESC Region 3

Region 4

Luis Romero

Spring Branch ISD

Region 5

Aleen Brady

Port Arthur ISD

Region 6

Cypris Potts

New Caney ISD

Region 7

Dr. Byron Miller

Center ISD

Region 8

Codi Grubbs

ESC Region 8

Region 9

Christi Nash

Witchita Falls ISD

Region 10

Dr. Amber Reed

ESC Region 10

Region 11

Dr. Marie Mendoza

Fort Worth ISD

Region 12

Tammi Ranft

Waco ISD

Region 13

Sibyl Lee

Round Rock ISD

Region 14

Carrie Atchison

ESC Region 14

Region 15

Rusty Fleeman

ESC Region 15

Region 16

Debbie Chapman

Amarillo ISD

Region 17

Camie Holcombe

ESC Region 17

Region 18

Elizabeth Garza

Greenwood ISD

Region 19

Manuel De Jesus Aldaco

ESC Region 19

Region 20

Cynthia Borden

Seguin ISD

Join ACET today and gain access to invaluable information and professional development opportunities to manage your grants with ease and compliance.